The Diaries. James Lees-Milne.

The Diaries. 1. Ancestral Voices; 2. Prophesying Peace; 3. Caves of Ice; 4. Midway on the Waves; 5. A Mingled Measure; 6. Ancient as the Hills; 7. Through Wood and Dale; 8. Deep Romantic Chasm; 9. Holy Dread; 10. Beneath a Waning Moon; 11. Ceaseless Turmoil; 12. The Milk of Paradise.

London: Chatto & Windus, Faber and Faber, and John Murray, 1975-2005. 8vo. 12 volumes, set. First editions (except Beneath a Waning Moon which is, as usual, a second impression). Original hardcovers, gilt. All volumes have the bookplate of Lord Carrington (1919-2018) on the half-title or front endpaper, with the exception of Prophesying Peace. Most volumes with slight lean to spine and light rumpling to the jacket from having been read cover to cover. Near fine in near fine dust-wrappers. Item #4121

A complete set of the diaries of James Lees-Milne (1908-1997). The volumes take their names from Coleridge's Kubla Khan. When the series was still ongoing, the publisher Michael Russell suggested 'In Fast Thick Pants' would be a good title!

Price: £500.00

See all items in Diaries and Letters, Sets
See all items by
Return to search results