Item #6412 The Mamur Zapt series. Michael Pearce.
The Mamur Zapt series
The Mamur Zapt series
The Mamur Zapt series

The Mamur Zapt series. 1. The Mamur Zapt and the Return of the Carpet; 2. The Night of the Dog; 3. The Donkey-Vous; 4. The Men Behind; 5. The Girl in the Nile; 6. The Spoils of Egypt; 7. The Camel of Destruction; 8. The Snake-Catcher's Daughter; 9. The Mingrelian Conspiracy; 10. The Fig Tree Murder; 11. The Last Cut; 12. Death of an Effendi; 13. A Cold Touch of Ice; 14. The Face in the Cemetery; 15. The Point in the Market; 16. The Mark of the Pasha.

London & Scottsdale: Collins Crime Club, Collins Crime & Poisoned Pen Press, 1988-2008. 8vo. 16 volumes. The first sixteen Mamur Zapt novels. Volumes 1, 10, 11, 12 & 14 are signed. Original hardcovers. Dust-wrappers: Volume 1 is slightly faded on the spine and has a very short closed tear to the bottom edge of the back panel. Volumes 2, 3, 6 & 7 are a little rumpled and rubbed at the spine ends. Volume 7 is price-clipped. Near fine in near fine d/ws. Item #6412

This collection represents an excellent opportunity to catch up on the career of the Mamur Zapt, the British head of Cairo's political CID. The former owner must have stopped collecting in 2008, since there were three more Mamur Zapt novels before Michael Pearce died on 20th July 2022 which are not included here. The Mark of the Pasha is the 'final' book in historical terms, set in 1919, and the last three published titles deal with events in earlier years. The first fourteen novels were published by Collins Crime Club or, from 1994, Collins Crime. Poisoned Pen Press published the next two and Severn House the last three books. A very nice run of first editions with the benefit of five signed volumes including the first.

Price: £450.00

See all items in Fiction, Signed
See all items by
Return to search results