Item #6834 The Shardlake Series. C. J. Sansom.
The Shardlake Series
The Shardlake Series

The Shardlake Series. 1. Dissolution; 2. Dark Fire; 3. Sovereign; 4. Revelation; 5. Heartstone; 6. Lamentation; 7. Tombland.

London: Macmillan (Mantle), 2003-18. 8vo. 7 volumes, set. First editions, first impressions. Original hardcovers. Volumes 5, 6 & 7 have silk marker ribbons. Volumes 2, 5 & 7 are signed. Unclipped d/ws are slightly rumpled along the top edges. Fine in near fine d/ws. Item #6834

The deservedly successful series of novels (all published so far) featuring the Tudor lawyer Matthew Shardlake getting to grips with murder and political intrigue. The author's keen interest in the law and historical research combines with a flair for characterisation and knotty plotting. A period of war, religious upheaval and social unrest is brought vividly to life and Shardlake is an eminently sympathetic guide to his times. Highly recommended. Sets in this state and with three signed volumes are very scarce.


Price: £1,100.00

See all items in Sets, Signed
See all items by
Return to search results